Sep 26, 2017

By Michael Kramer

Share on

Great news for Canadian authors.

The Writers’ Trust is doubling the amount it gives the Canadian winners of its fiction award – to $70,000.

The break-down for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize means it will now offer $50,000 to the winner – and $5,000 to each of the four nominees recognized as having written the year’s best Canadian novel or short story collection.

Finalists for the 2017 fiction prize will be revealed Wednesday – with the winner being announced November 14th in Toronto.

In total,  the Writers’ Trust bestows seven literary awards – with more than $250,000 in prize money up for grabs.

Other awards include the Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Nonfiction – the Writers’ Trust/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize for best short story – the Latner Writers’ Trust Poetry Prize – and the Vicky Metcalf Award for Literature for Young People.

Past winners of the fiction prize include Austin Clarke, Alice Munro, Lawrence Hill and Emma Donoghue.

Advertise With Us

To learn about advertising opportunities with Zoomer Radio use the link below:

Join Our Fan Club
Coverage Area
Downtown Toronto
Toronto HD
96.3 HD-2
Kingston to Windsor, Parry Sound to Pittsburgh
ZoomerRadio Logo

Recently Played: