Apr 21, 2014

By Michael Kramer

Share on

The 118th running of the Boston Marathon has ended – with nothing out of the ordinary happening – except for the fact that an American won the men’s division.

Meb Keflezighi completed the race in a time of 2 hours, 8 minutes, 37 seconds. Keflezighi is a former New York City Marathon champion and an Olympic medallist – who is the first American male to win the race since 1983 – and the first U.S. runner to win since Lisa Larsen-Weidenbach claimed the women’s title in 1985.

Keflezighi had the first names of four victims of the bombing – on his running bib.

Taking the women’s division was Rita Jeptoo of Kenya, who set a course-record of 2 hours, 18 minutes, 57 seconds to become the seventh three-time Boston Marathon champion. Jeptoo won last year and in 2006. American Shalane Flanagan finished seventh after leading for more than half the race.

The marathon got underway protected by heavy security – a year after the bombings near the race’s finish line that killed three people and wounded more than 260.

A moment of silence was observed and “America the Beautiful” was played over a loudspeaker before the start of the race.

About 36,000 runners registered for the marathon – the second-largest field in its history.

Advertise With Us

To learn about advertising opportunities with Zoomer Radio use the link below:

Join Our Fan Club
Coverage Area
Downtown Toronto
Toronto HD
96.3 HD-2
Kingston to Windsor, Parry Sound to Pittsburgh
ZoomerRadio Logo

Recently Played: