Jan 17, 2018

By Bob Komsic

Share on
Since Deb Matthews, Liz Sandals and Brad Duguid are not seeking re-election in June, the premier needed to shuffle her cabinet.
With just under five months until voting day, June 7, Kathleen Wynne is replacing them with three backbenchers.
Harinder Malhi, MPP Brampton-Springdale, becomes the new Minister of the Status of Women.
Daiene Vernile, MPP Kitchener Centre, is Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport.
Nathalie Des Rosiers, MPP Ottawa-Vanier, becomes the Minister of Natural Resources and Forestry.
(Left to right, Malhi, Des Rosiers, Vernile / Toronto Star)
Mitzie Hunter moves from education to Minister of Advanced Education.
Indira Naidoo-Harris becomes Minister of Education while keeping her Early Years and Child Care responsibilities.
Eleanor McMahon is President of the Treasury Board.
Steven Del Duca is Minister of Economic Development and Growth.
Kathryn McGarry is Minister of Transportation.
Premier Kathleen Wynne says she’s ”thrilled” to have three new ministers.
”In a changing economy, our plan is about making sure everyone has a fair shot at getting ahead.  That’s why it is also important to me that this updated cabinet continues to reflect both the diversity and the geography of our province,” said Wynne in a statement.
The premier added she’s grateful to outgoing ministers Matthews, Sandals and Duguid for all they’ve done at the cabinet table.
They’ll stay on as MPPs for now.
Advertise With Us

To learn about advertising opportunities with Zoomer Radio use the link below:

Join Our Fan Club
Coverage Area
Downtown Toronto
Toronto HD
96.3 HD-2
Kingston to Windsor, Parry Sound to Pittsburgh
ZoomerRadio Logo

Recently Played: