Jul 23, 2014

By Scott Walker

Share on

There are no Canadians in the running for the prestigious Man Booker Prize this year.

For the first time, American authors have been included in the competition that was previously restricted to Britain, the Commonwealth, Ireland, and Zimbabwe.

Five American authors are on the list this year. Six British authors, one Australian, and one Irish writer round out the 13-name long list.

The shortlist will be announced September 9th, and the Booker, with its prize of about $91,000, will be handed out October 14th.

Last year, the Booker was won by Candian-born author Eleanor Catton. At 28, she was the youngest to win the award.

Here is the complete long list for this year:

  • Joshua Ferris [US] – To Rise Again at a Decent Hour 
  • Richard Flanagan [Australia] – The Narrow Road to the Deep North 
  • Karen Joy Fowler [US] – We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves 
  • Siri Hustvedt [US] – The Blazing World 
  • Howard Jacobson [Britain] – 
  • Paul Kingsnorth [Britain] – The Wake 
  • David Mitchell [Britain] – The Bone Clocks 
  • Neel Mukherjee [Britain] – The Lives of Others 
  • David Nicholls [Britain] – Us 
  • Joseph O’Neill -[Ireland/US] – The Dog 
  • Richard Powers [US] – Orfeo 
  • Ali Smith [Britain] – How to Be Both 
  • Niall Willaims [Ireland] – History of the Rain 
Advertise With Us

To learn about advertising opportunities with Zoomer Radio use the link below:

Join Our Fan Club
Coverage Area
Downtown Toronto
Toronto HD
96.3 HD-2
Kingston to Windsor, Parry Sound to Pittsburgh
ZoomerRadio Logo

Recently Played: