Jul 15, 2013

By Michael Kramer

Share on

Eight new faces are coming to cabinet – and four of them are women.

Prime Minister Stephen Harper has  unveiled the government team to take the Conservatives into the next election.

Toronto-area MP Chris Alexander has been named as  the new minister of Citizenship and Immigration, replacing Jason Kenney, who gets a newly named portfolio, Employment and Social Development. It takes the place of Human Resources and Skills Development.

Manitoba MP Shelly Glover has been named Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages, replacing James Moore who moves to Industry.

 Kerry-Lynne Findlay becomes the new National Revenue minister and Leona Aglukkaq becomes Canada’s new Environment minister, replacing Peter Kent.

Rona Ambrose, who was minister of  Public Works, was named the new Health minister.

Ontario MP Kellie Leitch has been named  Labour minister and Lisa Raitt moves from Labour to Transport.

Alberta MP Michelle Rempelg is the new minister of State for Western Economic Diversification.

Candice Bergen takes  minister of State for Social Development and Saskatchewan MP Lynne Yelich becomes minister of State for Foreign Affairs and Consular Services, replacing Diane Ablonczy who is retiring from politics.

Steven Blaney was named the new Public Safety minister, from Veterans Affairs, a portfolio that Vaughan MP Julian Fantino takes over.

Peter MacKay and Rob Nicholson swapped posts: MacKay takes over as Justice minister and Attorney General and Nicholson is the new Defence minister.

Diane Finley takes over from Ambrose at Public Works and Government Services. Kevin Sorenson replaces Ted Menzies as junior Finance minister. Kenora MP Greg Rickford was named minister of State for Science and Technology.

Tim Uppal was named minister of state for Multiculturalism and John Duncan is back in cabinet as the chief Government Whip, taking over from Gordon O’Connor.

Harper keeps  several veterans in their current posts: Jim Flaherty at Finance; John Baird at Foreign Affairs; Toronto MP Joe Oliver at Natural Resources and cabinet veteran Bernard Valcourt remains in his post at Aboriginal Affairs.

Ed Fast remains at International Trade.

Advertise With Us

To learn about advertising opportunities with Zoomer Radio use the link below:

Join Our Fan Club
Coverage Area
Downtown Toronto
Toronto HD
96.3 HD-2
Kingston to Windsor, Parry Sound to Pittsburgh
ZoomerRadio Logo

Recently Played: