Sep 15, 2021

By Andy Johnson

Share on

The last Canadian to win the $86 thousand dollar Booker Prize was Can-Lit legend Margaret Atwood.

She shared it with British novelist Bernadine Evaristo in 2019 and won it 2000 for her novel the “Blind Assassin.”

This year, American writers Patricia Lockwood, Richard Powers and Maggie Shipstead lead the shortlist.

Lockwood is nominated for her debut novel, “No One is Talking About This” Powers is making his second appearance on the shortlist, this time for “Bewilderment.” Shipstead is nominated for her novel “Great Circle”

Up until 2014, The Booker was restricted to writers from the British Commonwealth, Ireland and South Africa. It now recognizes the best original novel written in English and published in the United Kingdom.

Two Canadian writers, Mary Lawson and Rachel Cusk made the long list.

Two other Canadians have won the prize since its inception in 1969: Michael Ondaatje in 1992 for “The English Patient” and Yann Martel in 2002 for “Life of Pi.”

The winner of this year’s prize will be announced November 3rd.

Advertise With Us

To learn about advertising opportunities with Zoomer Radio use the link below:

Join Our Fan Club
Coverage Area
Downtown Toronto
Toronto HD
96.3 HD-2
Kingston to Windsor, Parry Sound to Pittsburgh
ZoomerRadio Logo

Recently Played: