Canadian filmmaker Deepa Mehta, American poet and rocker Patti Smith and British actor Alan Rickman are among the artists who have been named to the jury for the 10th Glenn Gould Prize.

The $50,000 prize  is awarded every two years  to a living individual for a lifetime contribution to the arts.

Other jurors include  Hong Kong arts philanthropist David Tang and opera tenor Rolando Villazon.

This year’s winner will be announced at a news conference on Feb. 21 at Toronto’s Sony Centre for the Performing Arts.

Past laureates include Leonard Cohen, Yo-Yo Ma and Oscar Peterson.

Michael Kramer

About Michael Kramer

Michael is the afternoon news anchor on the New Classical 96.3FM and hosts the program Zero to 1800.